Zen-Circle-ZEN-BUDDHIST

First of all, what is meant by learning? I am not offering an opinion, I am looking at the fact. Is learning a process of accumulation of knowledge? From that knowledge I act; that is, I have stored up experiences, memories, and from that I act. Or, is learning a constant process without accumulation and therefore learning is acting? Go slowly, I’ll go into it. It is not that I first learn and then act according to what I have learnt, but learning is acting; the learning is not separate from acting.

One is going to learn about fear, or about what to do, how to live. But if you have a system that tells you how to live, or a method that says, “Live this way”, then you are conforming to the method which is established by somebody else. Therefore you are not learning, you are conforming and acting according to a pattern, which is not action at all, it is just imitation. So if you learn what are the implications of methods, or of systems, then you will put away methods and systems; then you are learning about what you are doing and the very learning about life is the activity of life – right? Have I made it clear? Living, learning and acting are not three separate things, they are indivisible.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

